Reviews

Camlann

We opened for business in March 2014 and have had some lovely feedback, have a read below and you can check our Trip Advisor reviews for Camlann  also :

“Beautiful cottage, wonderful weather. We had a wonderful week. Thats for the warm welcome.” Stefano and Lara, Italy (August 2016

“This cottage is so lovely. We really love this old style. We could stay forever but our children and grandchildren wouldn’t like that. We leave with a piece of Scotland in our heart.” Kent & Lonny, Sweden, July 2016

“We have loved this cottage, it has been ideal for us as it is only 5 minutes from the golf club. Everything was perfect!” We will be back. Steve and Jess , Newcastle (April 2016)

“We’ve had a lovely, relaxing few days at this wonderful cottage. Loved the log fire and the well equipped kitchen. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. The locals were all friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed Sunday evening in the Lossett Inn with the live folk music. Wood definitely book to stay again.” Ian & Sue, North Yorkshire (February 2016)

“The cottage has been an oasis of calm in a very hectic week. Anymore parties and we’ll be back. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.” John & Kay Sawkill (December 2015)

“We had a very relaxing few days in your beautifully restored cottage. What we most appreciated was the detail you have gone to to ensure that everything we could possibly have needed os here. It is as if you have left us your own home. Thank you for a very relaxing weekend.” Charlie Blyth & Margaret Wilson, Edinburgh (November 2015)

“Enjoyed a wonderful 3 days at your lovely cottage. What beautiful countryside & met some of the nicest people. Lovely walks & drinks & amazing weather. Thank you from the bottom of my heart & I hope to come back to rent your lovely cottage again – hopefully in the not too distant future.” Mary Knightly (September 2015)

“Enjoyed Camlann very much – cosy and well appointed – everything we needed and great help when we requested. The countryside and the hikes were spectacular. We would love to return. Everyone has been so friendly and welcoming.” Bobbi and Brian Kearns, Alberta Canada (August 2015)

“Another happy break in your beloved cottage… we particularly enjoyed the the visit to the Himalayan Garden at Cluny.. and simply enjoyed the relaxed friendliness of it all …”  Tessa and Emma Peters, London, England  (June 2015)

“Another happy stay at Camlann! Lots of highlights including Auchintaple Loch hidden in the Glen Isla hills. Cat Law (2,200 feet) behind Balintore Castle, golf at Rosemount, drams at Lands of Loyal and Lossett, fishing on the Meuse pool at Ruthven, nice coffee shops at Lintrathen, well worth a visit (Wee Bear) for lunches too. Angus countryside at its best and so much wildlife around.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England. (May 2015)

“Thank you so much for the delightful stay I have had over the last two weeks. In fairly sad circumstances, your kindness, flexibility and hospitality – and this gem of a cottage – have made all the difference.” Julie Lawson-McDougall, Lusaka, Zambia (January 2015)

“What a lovely place to stay, a very warm and cosy cottage with lots of interesting and decorative ‘bits and pieces’. Thank you Clare for a very warm welcome, you have a beautiful cottage and I am sure that once word gets out it will be a very busy place.” Marcella O’Brien, North Ayrshire, Scotland (September 2014)

“Lovely comfy cottage to return to at the end of the day. The garden is lovely and peaceful.” Fiona and Ian Tulloch, Cambridge, England (September 2014)

“Great place to stay, both the cottage and the town. Wish we had booked here for the rest of our stay in Scotland. It will be our first choice for our next trip.” Gary and Jennie Bustin, Wolfville, Nova Scotia (August 2014)

“This is a truly stunning cottage in a glorious part of Scotland. The quality of the fixtures and fittings is a treat. I will be back for sure.” John Thackara, Montpellier, France (July 2014)

“So ends a lovely week… Cottage was great, local area full of things to do and see… All in all a highly satisfactory stay and would (and shall) recommend it to friends.” Lorna and Raymond Lowe, Moray, Scotland (July 2014)

Thank you very much for a delightful stay. Your cottage is just lovely and suited us perfectly. We look forward to making a return visit as there is so much to see and do in this delightful part of Scotland.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England (June 2014)

“We saw hares and pheasants and red deer and red squirrels! Wonderful 2 days in Vanora’s Cottage … we can’t wait to come again.” Pat and Cliff Allen, Hastings, England (March 2014)

St Louan’s

We opened our second cottage, St Louan’s, in late December 2014 and we’ve had some lovely feedback on that too. Check out the Trip Advisor reviews for St Louan’s too.

“We have spent a lovely time in Scotland. Alyth is a very quiet town and the surroundings are spectacular. We felt home in the house. Olivia was very nice and helpful. The home is very well located. We rented bikes in the shop in the town and we spent a wonderful time biking int he area. We highly recommend the experience.” Estella, Jorge, Adrianu, Irene, Javier, Spain (August 2016)

“We really had a wonderful time here, the house was lovely and well equipped. We especially loved the wood burning stove, it made the place feel very warm and cozy. It has been very quiet and peaceful here, just what we wanted. Thank yo uno much for making our stay enjoyable.” Niall, Sharon and Oona (August 2016)

“We are a family of 6 adults travelling from Vancouver Island, Canada to Scotland. St Louan’s was a beautiful, peaceful haven to come home to after long days of sightseeing and travelling. I would (and will) recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay in Scotland. Thank you so much!” Kim and David Maandag and family (May 2016)

“Three of us, part of a group of eleven up here to learn basket weaving! Great fun and a great welcome from all.” Anthony & Victoria Wynn (May 2016)

“Thank you Olivia for such a wonderful holiday cottage and for making our stay very comfortable. We have enjoyed visiting Alyth and will certainly be visiting again.” Tessa, Oliver, Alfred and Hugo (New Year 2016)

“Stayed her on a working trip and it has been fantastic. House was spotless and very welcoming when we arrived on a chilly evening. Ideal choice of books as my grandmother was from Shetland and I holidayed there last year and my colleague loves her plants and garden. Two very happy ladies who hope to come back again.” Helen & Donna (November 2015

“Our short break has been wonderful. The cottage is spotless, warm, welcoming and very spacious. There is everything you could possible want in the kitchen and en-suites. Thank you Olivia and family for this wonderful opportunity to enjoy your ‘home'”. Gail, Arran and Cara Chapman, (November 2015)

“Our short break has been wonderful. The cottage is spotless, warm welcoming and very spacious. There is everything you could possibly want in the kitchen and en suites. Thank you Olivia and family for this wonderful opportunity to enjoy your “home”.” Gail Arrau & Cara Chapman, November 2015

“A lovely few days here in Alyth at St Louan’s, weather perfect, warm and sunny. I have enjoyed renewing my deep connections with Alyth and sharing it with my son, daughter-in-law and two granddaughters (5 & 2). From Portland, Oregon, Reekie Linn and Glen Isla are beautiful, the new form the top of Alyth Hill amazing. The cottage gave us the perfect base and had everything we needed. Thanks Clare &Olivia for the roses, cake, shortbread and warm welcome to a beautiful place.” Jim & Rhona Burslem, British Columbia, Canada (September 2015)

“We have had a lovely stay, so thrilled with the cottage which was perfect in every way – incredibly comfortable, warm and well-equipped. The girls didn’t want to go home!” Ginny, Amanda, Fiona, and Evelyn and Daphne, September 2015

“we have had a lovely stay here but sadly too short in this calm, peaceful house in a secret corner of Alyth. We enjoyed the walking and seeing The Discovery in Dundee. Sad to see the flood damage, but the restoration work is very impressive. We look forward to coming back.” Rose, Alex, Matthew, Petra, Wilfred & Thea, Herefordshire, September 2015

“Enjoyed a wonderful 3 days at your lovely cottage. What beautiful countryside and met some of the nicest people. Lovely walks and drinks and amazing weather. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and hope to come back to rent your lovely cottage again, hopefully in the not too distant future.” Mary Knightly, (September 2015)

“It has been very ‘short but sweet’ – a very brief overnight stay in such a superb cottage is nothing short of frustrating, we’ll return for a holiday one day”. Nicky, Claire and James (March 2015)

“St Louan’s has far exceeded our expectations in every way. We have been ‘blown away’ by how wonderful this ‘gem’ of a cottage/house is. We were not expecting such spacious, bright and airy rooms and to have three en suite bathrooms was wonderful. The house has been refurbished to a very high standard with a real attention to detail and with lovely furnishings (and exceptionally clean!) I will be recommending Vanora’s cottages to everyone I hear of needing accommodation in Scotland! Thanks so much for a lovely stay.” Lucy, Paul, Anna Olivia Dickinson-Hall (February 2015)

“Another lovely week in Alyth in this cosy, comfortable Perthshire retreat. We have now experienced both of Vanora’s Cottages and each has its own separate and warming appeal. This time we’ve had members of the family stay with us and share in the delights of Alyth and the surrounding countryside. There is so much to see and do here, a week is never long enough! (especially when you get the winter conditions we’ve been experiencing). Many thanks for kindness and hospitality.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England (January 2015)