Reviews

Camlann

We opened for business in March 2014 and have had some lovely feedback, have a read below and you can check our Trip Advisor reviews for Camlann  also :

“Lovely cottage, a delight to stay in. The garden a gift from heaven. Lossett Inn a wonderful find and the Barony Bike place has excellent coffees and cakes. So central in position: holiday included a trip to the V&A in Dundee, the magnificent Glen Clova with snow on hills and autumn on the trees and an outstanding Skippenish concert at Pitlochry Festival Theatre. We look forward to returning.”  Alan & Isabel Jackson (October 2018)

“I spent a delightful 4 nights here in Alyth ad was fortunate to be staying here whilst i took a basket weaving course. Words o not do justice to this 5 star experience. Thank you” Julia Blaney (October 2018)

“Another delightful and happy stay at comfy Camlann. Thank you darling Clare for your hostility and superb skills guiding us through the magnificent scenery and treasure of Scotland! We hope to be back anon.” Cliff and Pat (September 2018)

“We have had a wonderful holiday stying in your lovely, peaceful and warm cottage. Thank you for everything.” Wendy & Chris (August 2018)

“Dear Clare, what a treat to be in Alyth staying at your beautiful cottage. Everything I could possibly need was available here. The stone circle was a special treat. Since I took a photo, I will carry a vivid memory of it as I leave here. Thanks for inviting David & me to your lovely home. This is quite a special place so I look forward to returning one day. Thank you and God Bless.” Jackie Davis

“Unfortunately, the previous guests used all the adjectives I was planning on using. That said Mary Lous was enamoured enough with the cottage to ask if we could duplicate it back home as our retirement residence, “Yer wee but n ben has been station. Well appointed, comfy, exactly what we had hoped for, ta” Howard & Mary Lou, Ontario, Canada (August 2018)

“Oh Vanora! We adore yer! Have us back! – loved our three nights in this peaceful, beautiful cottage & the magnificent hospitality of Clare!” Gillian and Lynnie (July 2018)

“Enjoyed a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage! The weather was fabulous and managed to visit lots of lovely places.” Jacke and Nick (July 2018)

“Lovely cottage, beautiful countryside, perfect weather – what more could anyone want! Thank you for a post relaxing and enjoyable stay.” Deborah and Zahid, Edinburgh (June 2018)

“Thanks for a wonderful week – a great spot for our first trip to Scotland. The cottage is a home away from home (especially because of the reminders of our times in Africa and Oceania) Many thanks for all the ‘little extras’.” Robin & Bernard Australia/France (June 2018)

“We had a great time in this wonderful country, the cottage was our home for a few days! We always had the feeling to come home after a day out. Thanks to Olivia and Clare for the lovely welcome, we spent a great time here.” Torsten & Regina (May 2018)

“We enjoyed our 4 days holiday in your lovely cottage, enjoyed sitting beside the open fire. (Lovely) Our weather was so nice and warm, we spent a lot of time in your levy garden, it has a lovely vibe.” Iris and Johnie Taylor (May 2018)

“Us back again! We love your old cottage and the wonderful surroundings. Always a treat to rest up here for a few days, so here’s to the next time. Never seen the area so beautiful.” Greg & Do Desson (May 2018)

“Thank you Clare, perfectly lovely” Katie & Paul (March 2018)

“Thank you so much for the supplies, we have loved our time here & hope to be back soon.”  Best wishes Dave & Tricia (January 2018)

“Another memorable stay in your charming cottage. I hope we will be able to come back again soon for some more lovely walks and games of golf. House was really cosy and the log fire a real treat – thank you for the wood supply! Hope you’ll have a wonderful Christmas – maybe even a white one – we leave today under those same conditions!” Greg and Di Desson (November/December 2017)

“Hi Clare, Had a great week, cottage is excellent and location for the golf course we were playing was fantastic. Shame about the weather but the log fire was very useful in drying our golf gear.” Christine and Martin (September 2017)

“Thank you for a wonderful time had in Alyth and Vanora’s Cottages We will never forget because we git engaged here” Bjorn and Stephanie (August 2017)

“Dear Clare, my third visit to this lovely cottage in this delightful part of the world. I hope I’ve behaved well enough to be allowed to return! Friendly people, snuggly-buggy accommodation and awesome countryside. Thank you again”  Tessa (August 2017)

“Enjoyed our 3 days on your beautiful cottage. Thank you for your hospitality. Already planning our next visit” Elaine and Michael. PS Loved the burning log fire.” (September 2016)

“We have enjoyed both the accommodations and the location” Willian and Mike (September 2016)

“We had a wonderful stay! Thanks for your hospitality!” Aaron & Robin Hill (August 2016)

“Beautiful cottage, wonderful weather. We had a wonderful week. Thats for the warm welcome.” Stefano and Lara, Italy (August 2016)

“This cottage is so lovely. We really love this old style. We could stay forever but our children and grandchildren wouldn’t like that. We leave with a piece of Scotland in our heart.” Kent & Lonny, Sweden, July 2016

“We have loved this cottage, it has been ideal for us as it is only 5 minutes from the golf club. Everything was perfect!” We will be back. Steve and Jess , Newcastle (April 2016)

“We’ve had a lovely, relaxing few days at this wonderful cottage. Loved the log fire and the well equipped kitchen. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. The locals were all friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed Sunday evening in the Lossett Inn with the live folk music. Wood definitely book to stay again.” Ian & Sue, North Yorkshire (February 2016)

“The cottage has been an oasis of calm in a very hectic week. Anymore parties and we’ll be back. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.” John & Kay Sawkill (December 2015)

“We had a very relaxing few days in your beautifully restored cottage. What we most appreciated was the detail you have gone to to ensure that everything we could possibly have needed os here. It is as if you have left us your own home. Thank you for a very relaxing weekend.” Charlie Blyth & Margaret Wilson, Edinburgh (November 2015)

“Enjoyed a wonderful 3 days at your lovely cottage. What beautiful countryside & met some of the nicest people. Lovely walks & drinks & amazing weather. Thank you from the bottom of my heart & I hope to come back to rent your lovely cottage again – hopefully in the not too distant future.” Mary Knightly (September 2015)

“Enjoyed Camlann very much – cosy and well appointed – everything we needed and great help when we requested. The countryside and the hikes were spectacular. We would love to return. Everyone has been so friendly and welcoming.” Bobbi and Brian Kearns, Alberta Canada (August 2015)

“Another happy break in your beloved cottage… we particularly enjoyed the the visit to the Himalayan Garden at Cluny.. and simply enjoyed the relaxed friendliness of it all …”  Tessa and Emma Peters, London, England  (June 2015)

“Another happy stay at Camlann! Lots of highlights including Auchintaple Loch hidden in the Glen Isla hills. Cat Law (2,200 feet) behind Balintore Castle, golf at Rosemount, drams at Lands of Loyal and Lossett, fishing on the Meuse pool at Ruthven, nice coffee shops at Lintrathen, well worth a visit (Wee Bear) for lunches too. Angus countryside at its best and so much wildlife around.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England. (May 2015)

“Thank you so much for the delightful stay I have had over the last two weeks. In fairly sad circumstances, your kindness, flexibility and hospitality – and this gem of a cottage – have made all the difference.” Julie Lawson-McDougall, Lusaka, Zambia (January 2015)

“What a lovely place to stay, a very warm and cosy cottage with lots of interesting and decorative ‘bits and pieces’. Thank you Clare for a very warm welcome, you have a beautiful cottage and I am sure that once word gets out it will be a very busy place.” Marcella O’Brien, North Ayrshire, Scotland (September 2014)

“Lovely comfy cottage to return to at the end of the day. The garden is lovely and peaceful.” Fiona and Ian Tulloch, Cambridge, England (September 2014)

“Great place to stay, both the cottage and the town. Wish we had booked here for the rest of our stay in Scotland. It will be our first choice for our next trip.” Gary and Jennie Bustin, Wolfville, Nova Scotia (August 2014)

“This is a truly stunning cottage in a glorious part of Scotland. The quality of the fixtures and fittings is a treat. I will be back for sure.” John Thackara, Montpellier, France (July 2014)

“So ends a lovely week… Cottage was great, local area full of things to do and see… All in all a highly satisfactory stay and would (and shall) recommend it to friends.” Lorna and Raymond Lowe, Moray, Scotland (July 2014)

Thank you very much for a delightful stay. Your cottage is just lovely and suited us perfectly. We look forward to making a return visit as there is so much to see and do in this delightful part of Scotland.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England (June 2014)

“We saw hares and pheasants and red deer and red squirrels! Wonderful 2 days in Vanora’s Cottage … we can’t wait to come again.” Pat and Cliff Allen, Hastings, England (March 2014)

St Louan’s

We opened our second cottage, St Louan’s, in late December 2014 and we’ve had some lovely feedback on that too. Check out the Trip Advisor reviews for St Louan’s too.

“We have spent a lovely time in Scotland. Alyth is a very quiet town and the surroundings are spectacular. We felt home in the house. Olivia was very nice and helpful. The home is very well located. We rented bikes in the shop in the town and we spent a wonderful time biking int he area. We highly recommend the experience.” Estella, Jorge, Adrianu, Irene, Javier, Spain (August 2016)

“We really had a wonderful time here, the house was lovely and well equipped. We especially loved the wood burning stove, it made the place feel very warm and cozy. It has been very quiet and peaceful here, just what we wanted. Thank yo uno much for making our stay enjoyable.” Niall, Sharon and Oona (August 2016)

“We are a family of 6 adults travelling from Vancouver Island, Canada to Scotland. St Louan’s was a beautiful, peaceful haven to come home to after long days of sightseeing and travelling. I would (and will) recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay in Scotland. Thank you so much!” Kim and David Maandag and family (May 2016)

“Three of us, part of a group of eleven up here to learn basket weaving! Great fun and a great welcome from all.” Anthony & Victoria Wynn (May 2016)

“Thank you Olivia for such a wonderful holiday cottage and for making our stay very comfortable. We have enjoyed visiting Alyth and will certainly be visiting again.” Tessa, Oliver, Alfred and Hugo (New Year 2016)

“Stayed her on a working trip and it has been fantastic. House was spotless and very welcoming when we arrived on a chilly evening. Ideal choice of books as my grandmother was from Shetland and I holidayed there last year and my colleague loves her plants and garden. Two very happy ladies who hope to come back again.” Helen & Donna (November 2015

“Our short break has been wonderful. The cottage is spotless, warm, welcoming and very spacious. There is everything you could possible want in the kitchen and en-suites. Thank you Olivia and family for this wonderful opportunity to enjoy your ‘home'”. Gail, Arran and Cara Chapman, (November 2015)

“Our short break has been wonderful. The cottage is spotless, warm welcoming and very spacious. There is everything you could possibly want in the kitchen and en suites. Thank you Olivia and family for this wonderful opportunity to enjoy your “home”.” Gail Arrau & Cara Chapman, November 2015

“A lovely few days here in Alyth at St Louan’s, weather perfect, warm and sunny. I have enjoyed renewing my deep connections with Alyth and sharing it with my son, daughter-in-law and two granddaughters (5 & 2). From Portland, Oregon, Reekie Linn and Glen Isla are beautiful, the new form the top of Alyth Hill amazing. The cottage gave us the perfect base and had everything we needed. Thanks Clare &Olivia for the roses, cake, shortbread and warm welcome to a beautiful place.” Jim & Rhona Burslem, British Columbia, Canada (September 2015)

“We have had a lovely stay, so thrilled with the cottage which was perfect in every way – incredibly comfortable, warm and well-equipped. The girls didn’t want to go home!” Ginny, Amanda, Fiona, and Evelyn and Daphne, September 2015

“we have had a lovely stay here but sadly too short in this calm, peaceful house in a secret corner of Alyth. We enjoyed the walking and seeing The Discovery in Dundee. Sad to see the flood damage, but the restoration work is very impressive. We look forward to coming back.” Rose, Alex, Matthew, Petra, Wilfred & Thea, Herefordshire, September 2015

“Enjoyed a wonderful 3 days at your lovely cottage. What beautiful countryside and met some of the nicest people. Lovely walks and drinks and amazing weather. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and hope to come back to rent your lovely cottage again, hopefully in the not too distant future.” Mary Knightly, (September 2015)

“It has been very ‘short but sweet’ – a very brief overnight stay in such a superb cottage is nothing short of frustrating, we’ll return for a holiday one day”. Nicky, Claire and James (March 2015)

“St Louan’s has far exceeded our expectations in every way. We have been ‘blown away’ by how wonderful this ‘gem’ of a cottage/house is. We were not expecting such spacious, bright and airy rooms and to have three en suite bathrooms was wonderful. The house has been refurbished to a very high standard with a real attention to detail and with lovely furnishings (and exceptionally clean!) I will be recommending Vanora’s cottages to everyone I hear of needing accommodation in Scotland! Thanks so much for a lovely stay.” Lucy, Paul, Anna Olivia Dickinson-Hall (February 2015)

“Another lovely week in Alyth in this cosy, comfortable Perthshire retreat. We have now experienced both of Vanora’s Cottages and each has its own separate and warming appeal. This time we’ve had members of the family stay with us and share in the delights of Alyth and the surrounding countryside. There is so much to see and do here, a week is never long enough! (especially when you get the winter conditions we’ve been experiencing). Many thanks for kindness and hospitality.” Greg and Di Desson, Bramley, Surrey, England (January 2015)